Home About Publications Presentations Events Contact Us Partners
About Publication Presentations Events Contact Us Partners

ESPLANADE

About the Project

The ESPLANADE project targets the complex question of showing that an autonomous road vehicle is safe. This problem is significantly different from safety argumentation for manually driven vehicles. Since the automated driving system (ADS) has complete control of the vehicle in autonomous mode, part of its function must be to drive safely. There are a number of methodological problems that need to be mastered in order to find out how to perform safety argumentation for the ADS. The scope of this project is to solve these problems.

The project has a duration of three years, starting January 1st 2017 and ending December 31st 2019 and is partly financed by Vinnova through the FFI program, a partnership between the Swedish government and the automotive industry.

Vinnova
FFI
ESPLANADE

Photo: Volvo Cars


Academic Publications

Title Author(s) Conference/Journal
A Strategy for Assessing Safe Use of Sensors in Autonomous Road Vehicles Rolf Johansson, Samieh Alissa, Staffan Bengtsson, Carl Bergenhem, Olof Bridal, Anders Cassel, DeJiu Chen, Martin Gassilewski, Jonas Nilsson, Anders Sandberg, Thomas Söderqvist, Stig Ursing, Fredrik Warg, Anders Werneman SAFECOMP 2017
A Model-based Approach to Dynamic Self-Assessment for Automated Performance and Safety Awareness of Cyber-Physical Systems DeJiu Chen, Zhonghai Lu IMBSA 2017
Introducing ASIL Inspired Dynamic Tactical Safety Decision Framework for Automated Vehicles Siddartha Khastgir, Anders Sandberg, Gunwant Dhadyalla, Håkan Sivencrona, Peter Billing, Stewart Birrell, Paul Jennings ITSC 2017
Safe Transitions Between a Driver and an Automated Driving System (free access pdf) Rolf Johansson, Jonas Nilsson, Annika Larsson International Journal of Advances in Systems and Measurement, vol 10, numbers 3-4
Signal Feature Analysis for Dynamic Anomaly Detection of Components in Embedded Control Systems Xin Tao, DeJiu Chen, Juan Sagarduy DepCoS 2018
Design of a Knowledge-Base Strategy for Capability-Aware Treatment of Uncertainties of Automated Driving Systems DeJiu Chen, Kenneth Östberg, Matthias Becker, Håkan Sivencrona, Fredrik Warg WAISE 2018 (to appear)

Presentations

Title Presenter Venue
Legal aspects and safety requirements for developing increasingly autonomous vehicles Rolf Johansson ISO 26262 Improving safety of advanced mobility
Frankfurt, Germany, 2017-03-28
Förarlösa bilar - Varför kan vi lita på dem? Rolf Johansson Vetenskapsfestivalen
Göteborg, Sweden, 2017-05-10
Safety Challenges for Self-driving Cars Jonas Nilsson Vehicle Electronics & Connected Services
Göteborg, Sweden, 2017-05-10
Case study: Autoliv's learning intelligent vehicle Annika Larsson IQPC HMI Cockpit EUROPE
Düsseldorf, Germany, 2017-05-17
Arguing Safe HMI for Automated Drive Rolf Johansson IQPC HMI Cockpit EUROPE
Düsseldorf, Germany, 2017-05-17
Developing a Common Safety Methodology for Autonomous Vehicles Rolf Johansson Systemite Summer Conference
Göteborg, Sweden, 2017-06-15

Events

Event Time and Place
Joint Workshop ESPLANADE and SMILE projects Göteborg, 2017-05-11
Safety of Advanced CPS - SAFECOP & ESPLANADE Joint workshop Stockholm, 2017-09-19

Contact Us

Name Email Partner Affiliation
Fredrik Warg (coordinator) fredrik.warg@ri.se RISE Research Institutes of Sweden
Murat Erdogan murat.erdogan@veoneer.com Veoneer
Ola Örsmark ola.orsmark@comentor.se Comentor
Anders Sandberg anders.sandberg@aptiv.com Aptiv
De-Jiu Chen chen@md.kth.se KTH Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan
Stig Ursing stig.ursing@semcon.com Semcon Sweden
Ali Shahrokni ali.shahrokni@systemite.se Systemite
Olof Bridal olof.bridal@volvo.com Volvo Group
Carl Bergenhem carl.bergenhem@qamcom.se Qamcom Research and Technology
Jonas Nilsson jonas.nilsson@zenuity.com Zenuity

Partners

Aptiv
Comentor
KTH
Qamcom
RISE
Semcon
Systemite
Volvo Cars
Volvo Group
Zenuity

This website is hosted by:
RISE Research Institutes of Sweden, Box 857, SE-501 15 Borås, Sweden

RISE

The RISE institutes SP, Innventia and Swedish ICT have merged in order to become a stronger research and innovation partner for businesses and society. During 2017 sp.se will be one of several websites within RISE. Please visit ri.se for more information about RISE.